Do You Have Food Allergies?

Probably so!! Just about everyone has some sort of food allergy. Did you know that more than 160 foods can cause allergic reactions in people with food allergies? The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has identified eight foods that account for 90 percent of reactions. They are:

  • Milk
  • Eggs
  • Fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod)
  • Crustacean shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, shrimp)
  • Tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans)
  • Peanuts
  • Wheat
  • Soybeans

According to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004, foods containing products made from these foods must identify them as source ingredients on packaging labels. Food products labeled before January 1, 2006 were not required to identify ingredient sources – only common names. ALWAYS use special care when reading labels.

I recently cut wheat out of my diet, and can breathe so much better! I’m also allergic to shell fish. I found that out years ago when I started taking a fish oil supplement. My skin started to itch so badly I wanted to come out of it! Good thing I don’t like to eat fish…never liked the taste. I take flax oil instead.

Maybe it’s true…you are what you eat?

To Your Health…

Debbie James
www.YourDreamSize.com
850.450.2000

Email this Post

Leave a comment